Eye Candy — Yummy-Looking Art

The drawings below aren’t supposed to represent anything (that’s the big idea behind abstract art), but don’t they look just like candy to you? They make me think of candy sticks, the kind the that were in jars at the corner store when I was a kid, except not bendy. The idea for this project came from this excellent website (take a look for lots a of terrific art ideas).

You can let the drawings run through the spiral below by turning it, scroll through each image one at a time or click on the picture to enlarge it.

Abstract 3-D Art on PhotoPeach

After drawing the lines with markers, we shaded each fold with pencil crayon to give it three-dimensional effect. There was something quite therapeutic about making these drawings (yes, I made one, too)…I think it might be something we do every year.

So, do you have an art project that you have really enjoyed? Please tell us about it!

9 comments

  1. This art project looks amazing! My daughter did it in her class as well. I love how colourful they are and love the three dimensional look. Did they take a long time to make?

    1. Hi Lucy, these did take a bit of time to do well, maybe two hours of careful shading. But it was quite satisfying to watch the simple line drawings become three dimensional. I may do more than one myself!

  2. Dear Huzzah,
    We are doing collage and pastel art we chose out of three books and did a picture from one of them and they all look great.
    regards ayla

    1. Hello, Ayla! That sounds like a fun project. Pastel gives really rich colours. I like it even though it can be a bit messy at times!

  3. Dear Huzzah

    Your art work is great at first I thought it was a professional’s piece of work. Then I realised it’s yours. Are you all artists or professionals? Hope to hear from you.

    Your blogging buddy

    Kate, Room 24, Taradale Intermediate

    1. Dear Kate, what a lovely complement! I think of all of my students as creative geniuses, of course! No, we are not “professionals” but I think we are all artists at heart. Thanks again for your lovely comment.

    2. Dear Kate, thanks again for your lovely compliment. I of course think all my students are creative geniuses. We are not professionals, but we certainly are artists at heart. Many thanks for visiting us.

    3. Thanks for your lovely compliment, Kate! Yes, I think we are all creative geniuses, but I am biased. You are doing a great job as a blogger. I have fixed your url so it works now (there is no www in your address). Keep on blogging–you are doing a great job!

Comments are closed.