Guest Post: Myths and Superstitions

This year’s first guest post is by  Solana and Lizzie . Huzzahnians, if you would like to guest post, let Ms. Smith know!
7 Years Of Bad Luck If You Break A Mirror 7 Years Of Bad Luck If You Break A Mirror

Some people are superstitious and believe in things like breaking a mirror will give you 7 years of bad luck ! Also that Friday the 13th is bad luck, if a black cat crosses your path you will have bad luck, stepping on a spider will make it rain and -walking under a ladder will give you bad luck… we think that most of these aren’t true. Here are some facts…

1. Lizzie – I have broken a mirror before and almost no bad things have happened to me.

2. Solana –  I got my report card on Friday the 13th and got two A’s !

3. Lizzie – I have a black cat. She has crossed my path thousands of times!

4. Lizzie – I hate spiders so I have squished them a lot! It has NEVER rained when I have done it.

5. Solana – Nothing happened when I walked under a ladder.

Do you have any superstitons? What do you have to prove that one is fake… or true… We would like to know.

Image: Smashed by magnetomotive

8 comments

  1. Well, when I was little, I would never step on a crack. Maybe you have heard the expression “Step on a crack and break your mother’s back”? I was terrified of this idea and would go out of my way to avoid cracks in the pavement and even tiled floors! This meant a lot of stretching my legs out as I walked and I probably looked very goofy.
    My mum is 80 years old and has never broken her back. She did break her leg, though…maybe it was my fault?

    1. Hi this is Lizzie and Solana. We have both stepped on cracks and nothing has happened to us or our moms. Solana: My mom has broke her tail bone, but never her back!
      Lizzie: My Mom hasn’t broken any bones and I have stepped on lots of cracks.
      We don’t think it was your fault. How long did you not step on cracks for?
      – Lizzie and Solana

    1. We know what you mean! We don’t belive in supersticious myths. Having done all of these things it is good to know nothing will happen.

      ~ Lizzie and Solana

  2. Hey Huzaah! And all Of it’s students! I don’t believe those myths, all exept one… Walking under the ladder.. pretty funny story actually… I was just walking in my backyard and I desided to see if that myth was true… for fun… So I did… and it fell on me… kinda hurt actually 🙁 … ummm… anyways… I hope you guys (And girls) are havin a great time in Ms. Smiths class!

  3. I have alot of superstition. I have brokena mirror once and it was the worst week of my life. I don’t follow the seven years of bad luck but I know that I will have bad luck fro that week or month. I do not think superstitionis fake I think it is very real. If toy want to know more about me got to my blog page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *