Holiday Cheer Through Silly Gifts

On the last day of school we held a Wacky Gift Exchange. The rules were simple: bring a wrapped, non-store bought gift, and secretly give it to Ms Smith.
Ahead if time we talked about the difference between Wacky and Junky: ie a Barbie is ok, but a Barbie with hair cut off and marker on her face is not. The gifts ranged from helpful to hilarious, and there was a lot of laughing.
Here’s how the worked:
  • The pile of gifts was placed in the middle of our circle of chairs.
  • Student names were randomly drawn.
  • The first person chose a gift from the pile and opened it, saying: “Wow, I always wanted a…..”
  • The group responds with ooohs and aaahs.
  • The rest of the people, in turn, can take from the pile or “steal” from another person, who can either take from the pile or “steal” from another player.
  • Gifts can be stolen only three times.
  • The very last player can take any gift.

As you can see in the slide show below we had a blast and everyone had a great attitude about the “gifts” they received.

(I am experimenting with different slide show formats–let me know what you think of this Image Loop. I do find ads & logos distracting, but is this tool still worth using?)

6 comments

  1. I am always looking for slide show possibilities. So far everything I have tried has been blocked by our parish smartfilter. I haven’t tried imageloop; I’ll try it as soon as we get back to see if maybe…just maybe it won’t be blocked. Thanks for your comment on my blog:)

  2. Great idea. We do this as a staff at the last staff meeting before Christmas! The stealing aspect was hilarious this year.

    I think the Imageloop works well. I’ve only used rockyou on my blog.

  3. Hi Jan,
    I think imageloop is okay and, thanks to you, I’ve tried it myself with photos of my students.
    However, as we are not allowed to show their plain faces, I can’t embed it in our class blog.
    I wonder if you know how to slightly veil their features, without taking away all the fun of the picture it self.
    See you soon during the next student’s challenge.
    Ines

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *