Webcast with Dr. Bob Thirsk: You Can’t Google That!

We had our third webcast through Yes I Can! Science last Friday. It was an early start for us (8:00 am), but really worth it. We joined eight classes from across Canada in asking questions of Dr. Bob Thirsk–questions for which we couldn’t find answers any other way. Google is good, but not that good!

Among many other things, Dr. Thirsk told us about what the moments immediately before, during, and after take off are like, what working with people of other nationalities and cultures is like, and what experiments will be conducted on board the ISS.

One of my favourite quotes from Dr. Thirsk was in response to a question about what sort of education one needs to be an astronaut. He talked about how the standards were high, and that 5000 well-qualified people applied for two jobs. Then he said, “Don’t get an education to become an astronaut. Learn because you are curious about the world.”

He also told us about his personal pack. He is allowed to take 20 items into space, and among other things is taking a copy of The Hockey Sweater and a Japanese translation of Anne of Green Gables. Here are some of the things Huzzahnians would take:

Catie: I would bring the picture of my family and me because it would remind me of all the good times we have when we are together.

Blake: A small Canadian flag because I am Canadian.

Michael T.: A golden ring my dad gave to me that was his promise ring to my mom.

Julian: If I went to space I would bring nothing because what I will want will probably be there already.

Sam: My brother’s ipod with mine and my brother’s lullaby that my grandpa wrote and preformed on it.

Nicholas: My great grandpa’s WW2 medals in honor of his death.

Jacob: I would ask people to give me letters so I would not miss them as much and it would help when I get home sick.

The special patch above was designed by Bill Helin, a renowned Tsimshian artist.

2 comments

  1. This is a wonderfull article. I am especially impressed with the list of things the students would take with them. I think that would be a very difficult decision.
    Great job!

  2. Thanks, Wendy! I too think it would be difficult to decide. But the chances that I will have too are slim! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *